About the ensemble

Expromt-quintet occupies a special place in St. Petersburg’s musical life. The combination of Russian national and classical musical instruments, high professionalism of its members who are also teachers of the St. Petersburg Conservatory, a blend of the best traditions of the academic school, individual energy and a continuous search for fresh ideas, – everything here plays its role. In the season of 2014-2015 the musicians celebrated their 15-year anniversary as a group, recorded and released a CD album «Live concert 2015: In-Studio», devoted to this event. The history of “Expromt” begins with a performance in 1999 in one of the most authoritative concert venues of St. Petersburg, the hall of the Academic Kapella. Nowadays the ensemble’s name appears regularly on posters of leading concert halls of St. Petersburg, concerts in the halls of the Conservatory, Kapella, the Philharmonic society are annually held.
Expromt-quintet – the participant of the international festivals: “From vanguard up to our days”, “International Conservatory Week”, “Musical spring”, Saima Music festival, “Honorary citizens of St. Petersburg – 2017” and others.
Expromt-quintet has gone on several tours abroad which include the following countries: Holland (1999), Finland (2002), Germany (2003), France (2003, 2009, 2011), Scotland (2004, 2007, 2010), Italy (2005), Denmark (2005), Spain (2008, 2011, 2014), USA (2009), Estonia (2010), France (2003, 2009, 2011, 2015), Switzerland (2011, 2014, 2015, 2016).

Composer Sergei Slonimsky:“The members of the ensemble «Expromt-quintet» are highly talented musicians who know all styles of classical, romantic and modern music. My personal cooperation with this remarkable group (which repeatedly played “Incantation” from the Exotic suite) has often brought not only great artistic satisfaction, but also had major success with the public.”

Director of the festival “International Conservatory Week” Lidya Volchek: “«Expromt-quintet» has been contributing its unique «melody» within the ensemble polyphony of St. Petersburg for ten years now. This melody is light and virtuoso, it pleases, arouses admiration, and entices its audience to wait eagerly for new programs, concerts, CDs. The ensemble is successful and loved by the audience: the youth, talent and tireless creative improvement of its members are sure to please over and over again.”

Об ансамбле

Петербургский ансамбль «Экспромт-квинтет» отмечает в 2019 году свой 20-летний юбилей. Удивительное созвучие тембров народных и классических инструментов в руках музыкантов — выпускников и преподавателей Санкт-Петербургской консерватории, лучшие традиции академической исполнительской школы, энергетика, импровизация, постоянный творческий поиск — вот основные отличительные черты коллектива.
История «Экспромт-квинтета» начинается в 1999 году с концерта на одной из самых авторитетных сцен Санкт-Петербурга, в зале Академической Капеллы. В дальнейшем, название ансамбля регулярно появляется на афишах ведущих концертных залов Санкт-Петербурга, ежегодно проходят сольные концерты  в залах Консерватории, Капеллы, Филармонии. В сезоне 2014-2015 гг. музыканты отметили 15-летний юбилей коллектива, выпустили диск «Live concert 2015: In-Studio», посвященный этому событию. Экспромт-квинтет дал более 500 концертов в концертных залах России и за рубежом, стал обладателем различных музыкальных премий и лауреатом всероссийских конкурсов, выпустил 6 CD альбомов. «Экспромт-квинтет» — участник международных фестивалей: «От авангарда до наших дней», «Международная неделя консерваторий», «Музыкальная весна», Saima Music festival, «Почетные граждане Санкт-Петербурга — 2017» и других.
География гастрольных поездок «Экспромт-квинтета» включает следующие страны: Голландия (1999), Финляндия (2002), Германия (2003), Италия (2005), Дания (2005), Испания (2008, 2011, 2014), США (2009), Эстония (2010), Колумбия (2013), Франция (2003, 2009, 2011, 2015), Швейцария (2011, 2012, 2014, 2015, 2016), Шотландия (2004, 2007, 2010, 2018).

Композитор Сергей Слонимский: «Артисты ансамбля «Экспромт-квинтет» — высокоталантливые музыканты, владеющие всеми стилями классической, романтической и современной музыки. Моё личное сотрудничество с этим замечательным коллективом, (который неоднократно исполнял «Заклинание» из Экзотической сюиты) не раз приносило не только большое творческое удовлетворение, но и имело особый успех у публики».

Директор фестиваля «Международная неделя консерваторий» Лидия Волчек: «В ансамблевом многоголосии Санкт-Петербурга «Экспромт-квинтет» уже много лет ведет свою неповторимую «мелодию». Легкая и виртуозная, она радует, восхищает и заставляет ждать новых программ, концертов, дисков. Ансамбль удачлив и любим публикой: за удовольствие, доставляемое молодостью, талантом и неустанным творческим совершенствованием всегда воздается сторицей».